Safely Updating?
Forum rules
READ NOW: L2j Forums Rules of Conduct
READ NOW: L2j Forums Rules of Conduct
- J0Y
- Posts: 73
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:22 pm
Safely Updating?
L2J Revision 3971:
L2JDP Revision 7124:
Hello, I have searched the forum and cannot find a solution to my problem. I want to constantly stay up to date with the server/dp revisions, but I have problems with "updating". I know how to update my "core" and "dp" but when I overwrite everything to my server files. I do the "database installer" to update the sql tables and It deletes a few things that are time consuming to re-do, such as custom spawned NPC's. I do not do full install, I choose the upgrade option but after its all done it asks me something else that I do not remember exactly, but its says " if your too lame to do this yourself, I will do it for you" and I think that is what deleting my custom NPC spawns.
Also when "updating" is it 100% safe for saving all characters/accounts/items information?
-Thanks
L2JDP Revision 7124:
Hello, I have searched the forum and cannot find a solution to my problem. I want to constantly stay up to date with the server/dp revisions, but I have problems with "updating". I know how to update my "core" and "dp" but when I overwrite everything to my server files. I do the "database installer" to update the sql tables and It deletes a few things that are time consuming to re-do, such as custom spawned NPC's. I do not do full install, I choose the upgrade option but after its all done it asks me something else that I do not remember exactly, but its says " if your too lame to do this yourself, I will do it for you" and I think that is what deleting my custom NPC spawns.
Also when "updating" is it 100% safe for saving all characters/accounts/items information?
-Thanks
- Mayhem
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
http://www.l2jserver.com/wiki/Manual_Upgrade
Have you set to True in properties the configs to use custom tables?
Have you set to True in properties the configs to use custom tables?
Revolution burns within us all.


- J0Y
- Posts: 73
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:22 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
Oh I see what your getting at now. I need to use custom_spawnlist? But how does that work, all I do is //spawn<id> ingame and that doesn't save it to the custom table.
- Mayhem
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
Since you have CustomSpawnlistTable = True and restarted your server it should save spawns in the custom_spawnlist table.
Revolution burns within us all.


- J0Y
- Posts: 73
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:22 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
Ah, I over looked this option. So when I restart the server it will save the spawns that I made?Mayhem wrote:Since you have CustomSpawnlistTable = True and restarted your server it should save spawns in the custom_spawnlist table.
Code: Select all
# Option to save GM spawn only in the custom table.# Default: FalseSaveGmSpawnOnCustom = True
- Mayhem
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
Yes, then in game when you will use //spawn <id> it will save the spawn in this custom table.
But it won't automatically transfer the old ones from spawnlis to custom_spawnlist
But it won't automatically transfer the old ones from spawnlis to custom_spawnlist

Revolution burns within us all.


- J0Y
- Posts: 73
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:22 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
Ok, is there any other tables that might get 'deleted' when updating sql?
- Mayhem
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
You can open .sql files and check if there is something like
DROP TABLE => delete table
But the update process through the database_installer works fine.
Code: Select all
DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `char_templates`;
But the update process through the database_installer works fine.
Revolution burns within us all.


- J0Y
- Posts: 73
- Joined: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:22 pm
Re: Safely Updating?
Ok, thank you for the information 

- Mayhem
- Posts: 144
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm
- jurchiks
- Posts: 6769
- Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:16 pm
- Location: Eastern Europe
Re: Safely Updating?
I recently used this query to move data from normal to custom tables:
The owner of the server which I administer doesn't like to use custom tables for some reason.
Obviously this query can be used on any table which has a double in custom tables, just change table names and search keywords/values.
Code: Select all
INSERT INTO custom_droplistSELECT *FROM droplist WHERE mobid>80000;DELETE FROM droplist WHERE mobid>80000;
Obviously this query can be used on any table which has a double in custom tables, just change table names and search keywords/values.
If you have problems, FIRST TRY SOLVING THEM YOURSELF, and if you get errors, TRY TO ANALYZE THEM, and ONLY if you can't help it, THEN ask here.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.