Page 1 of 3

Geodata.

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:11 am
by mascke
I turned all option of geodata ON.

Code: Select all

# ---------------------------------------------------------------------------# Geodata# ---------------------------------------------------------------------------# GeoData options:# 0 = GeoData and PathFinding OFF (default)# 1 = GeoData is used to check Line Of Sight (LOS) targeting and #     L2Playable movement. You need to download files for data/geodata folder.#     Monsters can pass walls but not aggro (no line of sight) through them.# 2 = Full GeoData enabled. Includes PathFinding (requires also /data/pathnode #     files if CellPathFinding not enabled) and all character moves go through #     geodata checks (if a mob passes a wall, pathfinding didn't find a route #     but we allow attack and returning home).#     Recommended server memory minimum 2 GB, rather 3 GB.# Default: 0GeoData = 2 # Cell-level pathfinding, produces more accurate routes but is (maybe 10x) heavier to calculate. Recommended for small servers at least.# If False, pathnode files are used. Uses a max number of nodes in calculation which can be adjusted in the algorithm if it needs to be faster.# Default: FalseCellPathFinding = True # True = Loads GeoData buffer's content into physical memory.# False = Does not necessarily imply that the GeoData buffer's content is not resident in physical memory.# Default: TrueForceGeodata = True # This setting controls Client <--> Server Player coordinates synchronization:# -1 - Will synchronize only Z from Client --> Server. Default when no geodata.# 1 - Synchronization Client --> Server only. Using this option (without geodata) makes it more difficult for players to bypass obstacles.# 2 - Intended for geodata (at least with cell-level pathfinding, otherwise can you try -1).# Server sends validation packet if client goes too far from server calculated coordinates.# Default: -1CoordSynchronize = 2 
I have all pathnodes and geodata files but still players can pass walls/doors.
Like coliseum,olympiad arena..
Why?

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:37 pm
by momo61
try coord sync -1

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 6:53 pm
by Notorious
Yes, -1 is superior to 2 when it comes to not getting through doors, but 2 on the other hand is superior to -1 when it comes to having someone on follow in catacombs for instance... well, everywhere really.
With -1 the following char gets stuck somewhere pretty fast, and it's annoying, and players hate it.

I would suggest the devs fix 2 so that it doesn't let people pass through doors, or -1 so that chars can follow better.

But last time I discussed this, I got battered over the head. The problem doesn't exist is the official point of view here.

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:33 pm
by _DS_
If problem exist - fix it (and possibly contribute) or wait until someone else do it.

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:34 pm
by Notorious
_DS_ wrote:If problem exist - fix it (and possibly contribute) or wait until someone else do it.
Well... that's what I'm doing... waiting! :)
But, since you guys think the problem doesn't exist, it means you're all using -1.
Try 2 and then tell me you don't think it exist.

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 8:19 pm
by MELERIX
I use CoordSynchronize = 1

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 11:18 pm
by mascke
Thanks for answers,solved.

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 4:15 am
by _DS_
With sync=1 players will be able with ease teleport in any place using phx. Using of this option highly not recommended.

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 4:45 am
by snap
_DS_ wrote:With sync=1 players will be able with ease teleport in any place using phx. Using of this option highly not recommended.
So far I can't reproduce this using warp, rush, or instant jump type skills.

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 5:07 am
by _DS_
LOL, yes :D
Read entire message.
With 1 server trust client for all coords, with -1 - only Z.

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:28 pm
by _DS_
What about revision 3386 ?

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:20 pm
by lion
thank you _DS_ i use this on live and now player can't pass doors (test in clan hall)
i use CoordSynchronize = 1

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:51 pm
by Gnacik
what about LOS through door ? i check for example Giran Castle doors and i have LOS to doorman with closed door. It's core problem or door table problem (maybe bad coors?) can be debugged in some way ?

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:59 pm
by lion
i can target doorman but can't talk with him, and you?

Re: Geodata.

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:18 pm
by snap
gnat wrote:what about LOS through door ? i check for example Giran Castle doors and i have LOS to doorman with closed door. It's core problem or door table problem (maybe bad coors?) can be debugged in some way ?
already fixed