Eclipse red cross errors
Forum rules
READ NOW: L2j Forums Rules of Conduct
READ NOW: L2j Forums Rules of Conduct
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Eclipse red cross errors
L2J Revision Number:5463
L2JDP Revision Number:8954
Just checked out these from SVN.
I constantly get errors in forms of red crosses in the package viewer.
Latest eclipse with Java JRE and JDK 7.0.5 (or something like this)
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/17 ... lipse.png/
The fault is on my end?
L2JDP Revision Number:8954
Just checked out these from SVN.
I constantly get errors in forms of red crosses in the package viewer.
Latest eclipse with Java JRE and JDK 7.0.5 (or something like this)
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/17 ... lipse.png/
The fault is on my end?
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
Had to select jre7 in preferances manually.
Errors disappeared but it won't let me build - says I have java 1.6, just reinstalled JDK7u5 still same.
halp./
Errors disappeared but it won't let me build - says I have java 1.6, just reinstalled JDK7u5 still same.
halp./
- jurchiks
- Posts: 6769
- Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:16 pm
- Location: Eastern Europe
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
you should select the default JDK in the JREs settings aswell. It is possible that you have both JDK6 and 7 and Eclipse has the first one set as default.
If you have problems, FIRST TRY SOLVING THEM YOURSELF, and if you get errors, TRY TO ANALYZE THEM, and ONLY if you can't help it, THEN ask here.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
Checked jre7 in the preferances.
Then in the execution environments checked jre7 for JavaSE 1.7.
Still doesn't do it.
Where do I choose the JDK?
Then in the execution environments checked jre7 for JavaSE 1.7.
Still doesn't do it.
Where do I choose the JDK?
- jurchiks
- Posts: 6769
- Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:16 pm
- Location: Eastern Europe
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
you sure you've installed JDK, not JRE?
Preferences->Java->Installed JREs->Add...->Standart VM->next->Directory... -> C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_05\jre or whatever your path is. It should then list some libraries in the JRE Definition window. Click Finish and check the checkbox of the jdk in the list. That should be it.
You might need to restart Eclipse to be able to check it as the default in Execution Environments.
Preferences->Java->Installed JREs->Add...->Standart VM->next->Directory... -> C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_05\jre or whatever your path is. It should then list some libraries in the JRE Definition window. Click Finish and check the checkbox of the jdk in the list. That should be it.
You might need to restart Eclipse to be able to check it as the default in Execution Environments.
If you have problems, FIRST TRY SOLVING THEM YOURSELF, and if you get errors, TRY TO ANALYZE THEM, and ONLY if you can't help it, THEN ask here.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
I downloaded the JDK pack off the oracle.
Says includes both the JRE and JDK
What the compiler keeps insisting is to compile with java 1.6.
I restarted a bunch of times and checked all the checkbox that have any involvement with java 1.7.
Says includes both the JRE and JDK
What the compiler keeps insisting is to compile with java 1.6.
I restarted a bunch of times and checked all the checkbox that have any involvement with java 1.7.
- jurchiks
- Posts: 6769
- Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:16 pm
- Location: Eastern Europe
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
Java->compiler->compliance level=1.7
I've also noticed that sometimes the l2j project, when freshly downloaded, has compliance level set to some empty value and eclipse sets it to 1.4 or smth. to fix that, just open project properties and change the compliance level to 1.7
I've also noticed that sometimes the l2j project, when freshly downloaded, has compliance level set to some empty value and eclipse sets it to 1.4 or smth. to fix that, just open project properties and change the compliance level to 1.7
If you have problems, FIRST TRY SOLVING THEM YOURSELF, and if you get errors, TRY TO ANALYZE THEM, and ONLY if you can't help it, THEN ask here.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
Did it both ways, still won't say I have java 1.7
THis is what it looks like for me
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/35 ... ndjdk.png/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/19 ... nment.png/
THis is what it looks like for me
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/35 ... ndjdk.png/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/19 ... nment.png/
- MELERIX
- L2j Veteran
- Posts: 6667
- Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 11:31 pm
- Location: Chile
- Contact:
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
lol, seems you have mixed Java 6 and 7 versions at same time.
uninstall any Java version from your computer, and then follow this guides step by step: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10719
uninstall any Java version from your computer, and then follow this guides step by step: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=10719
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
Deleted all Java
Installed just JDK7u5 and whatever came with it.
Updated JAVA_HOME (didn't do last time)
Launch eclipse, check preferances for JRE - everything in place.
Still tried to compile with Java 1.6 - says the jre6 (which I had previously) could not be found (cos duh I uninstalled it)
Installed just JDK7u5 and whatever came with it.
Updated JAVA_HOME (didn't do last time)
Launch eclipse, check preferances for JRE - everything in place.
Still tried to compile with Java 1.6 - says the jre6 (which I had previously) could not be found (cos duh I uninstalled it)
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
- jurchiks
- Posts: 6769
- Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:16 pm
- Location: Eastern Europe
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
l2j uses Java 1.7...Still tried to compile with Java 1.6
Have you set the compiler to java 7 in both workspace and project preferences?
If you have problems, FIRST TRY SOLVING THEM YOURSELF, and if you get errors, TRY TO ANALYZE THEM, and ONLY if you can't help it, THEN ask here.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
I don't know what was done or not. I had Java 1.6 and that's what it kept trying to compile with. Even after I uninstalled everything it wouldn't try it with 1.7.jurchiks wrote:l2j uses Java 1.7...Still tried to compile with Java 1.6
Have you set the compiler to java 7 in both workspace and project preferences?
I did this:
This solved it.Go to RUN->External Tools ->External Tools Configurations…
Select your build.xml(in my case it is abc build.xml). Move to JRE tab.
Select the appropriate JRE.
The ant build would now compile with 1.7.
- jurchiks
- Posts: 6769
- Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 4:16 pm
- Location: Eastern Europe
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
that's not the right way to solve it...
If you have problems, FIRST TRY SOLVING THEM YOURSELF, and if you get errors, TRY TO ANALYZE THEM, and ONLY if you can't help it, THEN ask here.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
Otherwise you will never learn anything if all you do is copy-paste!
Discussion breeds innovation.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:57 am
Re: Eclipse red cross errors
The right way didn't work